Mt. Horai (蓬莱山) via. The Kojorou Trail (小女郎峠)- 05/05/2020

Hello everybody. This is my first post via a blogging format, so apologies if it’s a bit jumbled in places, I’ll try to not ramble on for hours.

So, on the 5th of May Kyoto was blessed with fairly good weather, and I decided to go and visit Mt. Horai, a 1,174 metre elevation mountain, over in the neighbouring Shiga prefecture, in the northern part of Otsu City. Mt. Horai is part of the Hira mountain range (比良山地) which runs between the border of Kyoto and Shiga (and also acts as an impressive hurdle to overcome when heading there via bike!) The mountain range itself is comprised of many peaks, but the most famous of those are Mt. Uchimi (打身山), Mt. Horai, and Mt. Bunagatake (武奈ヶ岳), all standing at 1,103, 1,174 and 1,214 metres respectively. The Hira mountain range is also incredibly famous in Japan for being depicted in The Eight Views of Omi (近江八景), a series of 14th century traditional Japanese paintings inspired by Chinese versions three centuries earlier (Omi is the old name for Shiga, thus, “Eight Views of Biwa/Shiga could translate too). The Eight Views would go on to influence famous Ukiyo-e (浮世絵 – Traditional 17th century Japanese painting style) painter Shirohige to depict the Hira mountains as the following:

Mt. Horai itself is listed as one of the 1997 top 300 mountains in Japan, and the scenery that you’re rewarded with at the peak certainly justifies that, in my opinion. There isn’t much history about Mt. Horai itself that I could find, other than that according to Arai Takashi in his 1997 edition of 300 Famous Japanese Mountains, there once supposedly lived a hermit on the mountain, and was often referred to as a ghost-mountain by surrounding sects of monks practicing on the neighboring mountains within the Hira range as a result of said hermit tale.

Now, moving on from the history, I decided to traverse to the mountain via bicycle. The route I took can be seen below:

The (somewhat lengthly) route taken. Google maps suggests an hour and 11 minutes via car, but I was able to do this in approximately 3 hours via bike.

The total distance between Kyoto and Mt. Horai, if being generous, is about 35 kilometres one way, or around 21.7 miles. I am by no means unfit, but in retrospect I GREATLY underestimated how taxing the bike leg that runs through the Hiei (比叡) mountain area was. Fortunately, the ascent on the way to Otsu wasn’t too bad as it was around a 6km ascent, versus the 2.5km sudden ascent on the way back to Kyoto (post-Mountain climb!) For reference, Mt. Hiei is around 848 metres at its peak, with the toll road that I passed whilst passing over via bike standing at around 600m elevation.

A picture of the ascent from the Kyoto side – Rock slides are common due to the sheer size of the cliff faces – hence the wired netting in place. This was one of two respite spots in the long ascent on the bike!

Having overcome the most grueling part of the bike journey, all that remained was 20 or so kilometres of flat riding from southern Otsu to Northern Otsu. This was incredibly enjoyable as I was flanked by views of Lake Biwa to my right on the way there, and the sun was out too. I suspect due to the pandemic recently not many people were out and about in cars, allowing for a fairly brief 1 hour bike ride up to the base of Mt. Horai.

Part of the Hira Mountain range, as viewed from Otsu City. You can just make out Mt. Horai’s peak in the centre background.

Upon arriving at Horai station I spotted a sign directing mountain-goers down a road heading West, so I followed this via bike for about 20 minutes going gradually uphill. Gradually is the key word here, as the final stretch of road that was still able to be navigated by a bike suddenly became so steep it put my hometown Sheffield’s Rutland Road to shame (Those who are aware of Rutland Road can sympathise). As a result, I decided to push my bike up the remainder of this road, when I came across a certain warning sign for hikers…

Image preview
“Bear Warning: Bears have been spotted in this area. When hiking, please avoid travelling by yourself, and on top of carrying either a radio or bear bells, take due care concerning your surroundings – Shiga Prefecture Otsu City”

This was certainly a shock, because whilst I was aware of bears existing in Japan, it was the first time I had experienced hiking a mountain where I could come across something “dangerous” other than wild boars/snakes. Either way, I proceeded up the forest road whilst pushing my bike, and made use of my bike bell for a while if my footfall was becoming muffled. Eventually I came across a clearing which marked the end of the road, and I used this area to lock my bike (I seemed to be the only hiker who came via bike today, with one car also parked nearby) The clearing also provided a nice overview of the Horai area near Lake Biwa, as can be seen here:

The “clearing” as described above. Judging from the view, it seems to be around 200-300 metres elevation, as Daimonji back in Kyoto has similar views from its viewing area.

Anyways, from this point on I would be travelling by foot, so I had a snack of a Caloriemate (TM), as well as a green smoothie concoction that was sold at the convenience store and I can’t remember the name of. The path itself was flanked by a fast-flowing river, with rocks acting as indicators for where to go on the trail. Other than the rocks, there were also small bands of plastic to act as guides for hikers, so often I would need to stop to gather my bearings (pun intended?), and look for a marker, so as to not end up lost in the mountain. The trail that I was following was called the Kojorou trail (小女郎峠), and was one of two trails that I identified on the way to the mountain. The other trail happens to lead to a ropeway, but taking ropeways is not in my nature, so I opted for the rocky-trail instead. (Circumstances as they are, the ropeway also appeared to be out of service upon seeing some signage indicating so at the summit)

A felled tree, likely by a typhoon, with a pink plastic marker tied to its trunk. The markers were pink, yellow and red, but I don’t think the colours had any profound meaning behind them.
A shot of the waterfall that runs along Kojorou trail. As I was ill-prepared concerning water on account of my somewhat taxing bike ride, I refilled my water canteen here three times. Despite the hot weather, the water was fairly cool and refreshing.
After climbing up the trail for about 40 minutes from where I left my bike, I finally came across another viewpoint behind me. I would guestimate this as about 600 metres elevation, due to sporadic breaks I was taking for photos and such.
Other than the plastic markers, there were a total of 5 yellow ropes like this in areas that could prove dangerous should you fall. Continuous weather damage seemed to have worn away the path to a level that only allows one foot after another, so this was a saving grace for sure.
An abandoned, rusting bicycle, discarded at about 800 metres elevation. A spirit or hermit, perhaps?

Following the haunted bicycle, I noted a distinct change in scenery, with things becoming seemingly a lot more barren, with rocks littering the path even more so than before, and very little foliage cover. I took another break there and heard what sounded like humans talking from over to my left. However, upon listening a bit more, I noticed the noises were not human voices, but in fact pigs, or more accurately in this case wild boars. I heard what sounded around 3-4 separate “oinks” or “oinkings”, so I would suspect it was a family. Knowing that approaching wild boards individually, let alone in a family situation where they would have due course to attack you was a bad idea, I decided to cut my break short, just in case the smell of my food carried over to them.

Approaching the end? Probably around 900-950 metres elevation.
A stellar view of Lake Biwa, only slightly obstructed by the two last remaining “proper” trees on the trail.
A better view of the lake and surrounding city presented itself about 100 metres later, flanked by various shrubbery.
The “final” part of the Kojoro trail. No trees here! Very hot!

After climbing up the final part of Kojoro trail I was greeted by an incredibly breathtaking view of Lake Biwa and what I had climbed up. The climb up to this point had taken approximately 2 and a half hours at a fairly “normal” pace.

Although my phone camera doesn’t do it justice, most of the Northern and Southern “parts” of Lake Biwa can be seen here, and considering the lake itself is approximately 64km (around 40 miles) in length, that’s saying something!
The first clear directional sign on the trail I had seen since back in an urban landscape. The summit was indicated as being to the right, but Kojoro-gaike (Kojorou Pond) was shown as being straight ahead, so I took a quick detour.

The walk to the lake was a leisurely 5 minutes or so, and the landscape surrounding me was reminiscent of the Peak Districts in South Yorkshire/Derbyshire, so I got a certain sense of nostalgia from walking there. I met an elderly Japanese man at the lake who had seemingly hiked up before me, and as he was eating his lunch I decided to join him and eat my remaining Caloriemate (TM), along with a croissant that I had purchased at the convenience store along with the strange green smoothie concoction. The man himself said he had hiked up Mt. Horai countless times, and that the reason for doing so was that often it was overlooked in favour of other mountains in the area such as Mt. Ibuki (伊吹山), and Mt. Bunagatake, and as a result you could find some peace and quiet there. I would certainly be inclined to agree!

Kojorou Pond – whilst the water was crystal clear, I didn’t want to risk taking water from it for fairly obvious reasons. I refrained from taking a picture of the elderly man with me as he was still enjoying his lunch as I was leaving!

Following the pond, I traced my steps back to the original signage, and took the path leading up to Mt. Horai’s summit. This consisted of traversing over what I assume to be one of the Hira mountain range’s ridges, and involved some ups and downs, but didn’t hold a candle to the severity of the ascent that the Kojorou trail had.

A shot of the northern portion of Lake Biwa from the ridge I was traversing across. Although the picture doesn’t capture it, the drop from the ridge was pretty much vertical, so I made sure to stay well away from the edge…
A view of the final ascent up to Mt. Horai’s peak with a clear sky. The shrubbery on either side of the path would often be rustling so I would often fear it’d be a snake, but would be pleased every time it was a small lizard monitoring it’s surroundings.
The Hira mountain range from “behind” providing a nice contrast to the views of Lake Biwa in the “front”.

Upon making the final ascent up the shrubbery-lined trail, I was met with a surprisingly built up summit. There was the ropeway building noisily cranking away (albeit with no customers), as well as what appeared to be an out-of-service restaurant, and some traditional mountain markers placed around.

The ropeway building, with the restaurant type eatery in the right of the shot. No usage today due to the current situation, I imagine.
A shrine of sorts at the summit. I believe you can ring the bell, but I didn’t want to risk it in case you weren’t meant to, so I resorted to a picture instead! The fencing at the back seemed to serve no purpose other than preventing individuals falling off/acting as perches for the many crows at the top.
The summit sign weathered away, but indicating the height and directions to the Kojorou trail and ropeway station respectively.
The “actual” summit signpost, similarly weathered away by time. Interesting how even in Japanese 1,174 is spaced with a comma similar to English, and uses individual numerical markers! (一、一七四 rather than 千百七十四 or such!
A directional stone table, with NESW carved into each respective compass point.

I dithered around taking my pictures for a whilst recuperating at the summit for around 20 minutes, then begun my slow descent back down Kojorou Trail. The descent was (inevitably) much easier than the ascent, and I got down in around an hour and a half. The bike back was (unfortunately) equally as grueling as the way to Mt. Horai, but this was probably a case of you reap what you sow, as I certainly had the option of taking the train there instead! Total time up and down Mt. Horai totalled to around 3 and a half hours-4 hours, with some dithering here and there included in that.

All in all, this journey was incredibly enjoyable, and I would certainly recommend it to anybody looking for a challenging day out. Should stamina be an issue for those interested, the ropeway does operate at a price of 1,000 yen (per way?) so it is certainly an option for those not wanting to brave the Kojorou trail. Either way, ropeway or not, the final view of Lake Biwa certainly justifies the physical exertion needed to get there, so I will definitely be visiting again in the future.

Thanks very much for getting through my rambling. From now I’ll be looking at either ascending Mt. Ibuki in Northern Shiga, or I will possibly think about ascending Mt. Kongou (金剛山) in the Osaka region. For now it’ll have to remain a surprise!

Until next time!

Published by AJT123

Office worker based in Tokyo, Japan. Native English speaker, Native fluency in Japanese (Can translate to a degree). Very large interest in mountains and other nature-abundant areas, and also my blog's namesake.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started